HYDRO+ Series: Equipment and Technology: Updating Aging Systems

  • Date:

    September 9, 2020
    11:00 AM EDT / 10:00 AM CDT / 8:00 AM PDT / 3:00 PM GMT

  • CEU:

    A certificate of attendance will be offered.

With many hydroelectric plants worldwide being 50 or more years old, aging of equipment is an ongoing concern. And many hydro project owners have developed unique approaches to solve their problems. During this educational webcast, two technical papers will be presented, focused on the theme of updating aging systems.

One technical presentation will focus on work Canadian provincial utility BC Hydro performed to upgrade a Woodward analog electronic governor from the 1980s, which was becoming difficult to maintain in terms of spare parts and issues with electromagnetic noise, along with other concerns. BC Hydro developed a low-cost retrofit option to address inherent problems with the governor, as opposed to a full digital replacement. The new design was installed and commissioned in just four weeks, eliminated many of the problems experienced and allows the unit to respond quickly to frequency changes and remote commands.

The second technical presentation is being confirmed, and this will be updated when details become available.

Speakers and Topics:

Steve Poteet, Senior Project Manager, HDR (moderator)

Ravi P. Mutukutti, Principal Engineer, Protection & Control Design, BC Hydro: Ultra-Low-Cost Option for Analog Electronic Turbine Governor Digital Retrofits

Carl Messier, Principal Engineer, Generators, GE Renewable Energy, Hydro Solutions: Stator Winding Emergency Repairs